List Of Universities Of Technology In South Africa

Universities of Technology in South Africa are institutes that focus on teaching students about engineering, natural sciences, technology, and applied sciences topics. These schools work mainly to develop and improve students’ knowledge about engineering courses. One of the topmost advantages of studying in an institute of technology is that these schools help you get employed more easily and quickly. Most University of technology works closely with leading companies in the Information Technology industry. However, you would need to attend a good university of technology if you are aiming at becoming a professional and apt IT technician or engineer.

South Africa is an affluent and prominent African country. The country is one of the best for IT aspirants. Studying in South Africa, you have a higher chance of getting employed as the country is consistently seeking professional IT workers. The country has a limited number of technical universities; moreover, these institutes offer top-notch tutoring services. In this article, a list of all the universities of technology in South Africa will be provided. Read further to know about them.

List Of Universities Of Technology In South Africa

  • Cape Peninsula University Of Technology

Cape peninsula university of technology was created on January 5, 2005. The school is located in Karaiifontein, Cape Town, South Africa. This university is the only technical institute in the western cape province. The Cape Town Peninsula University of Technology has up to six faculties; faculty of business, faculty of applied sciences, faculty of engineering, faculty of education and social sciences, faculty of health and wellness sciences, and faculty of informatics and design.

  • Central University Of Technology

This university was formerly known as Teknicon Free State and was established in 1981. The university has two campuses; one in Bloemfontein and another in Welkom. Central university of technology has four faculties.

  • Durban University Of Technology

This school was established in 2002. The school has over 23,000 students and is divided into six faculties. Durban University of technology has seven campuses but is mainly located in Greyville, Durban, South Africa.

  • Mangosuthu University Of Technology

Mangosuthu University of technology is located in Umlazi, South Africa. The school carries out its teaching operations excellently with the help of its highly-trained staff. Mangosuthu University of technology is divided into four faculties.

  • Monash South Africa Private University

Monash South Africa’s private university was established in 2001. The school is located in Johannesburg, Gauteng province, South Africa. Monash South Africa Private university has a good reputation and is widely known for producing professional students.

  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

If you desire to learn IT courses from notable and expert engineers or you want to study in a serene environment, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University is the perfect match for you.  The school was established in 2005 and is located in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

  • North-West University

North-West University(NWU) was founded on January 4, 2001. The school is located in Potchefstroom,  South Africa. North-West University has three campuses and five faculties.

  • Rhodes University

Rhodes University(RU) was founded in 1904 and is located in Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. The university is one of the four that offers technological courses in Eastern Province.

  • Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University

Sefako Makgatho health sciences university was established in 2015. The school is situated in Pretoria, Gauteng Province, South Africa. This university has 13 faculties and utilizes a world-class syllabus.

  • Sol Plaatje University

Sol Plaatje university was created in 2014. The school is located in Kimberley, South Africa. By 2024, the university would have been tutoring up to 7500 students.

  • Tshwane University Of Technology

The Tshwane University of Technology was founded in 2004.  The university has up to 60, 000 students and is divided into six faculties

  • University Of Cape Town

The university of cape town is located in Cape Town, South Africa, and was initiated in 1829. It is the oldest university in South Africa. The school offers a wide range of technical courses and has up to seven faculties.

  • University Of Fort Hare

The University of Fort Hare has been in existence since 1916. The school is located in Alice, Eastern Province, South Africa.

  • University Of Johannesburg

The University of Johannesburg was founded in 2005. It is located in Johannesburg, South Africa. The university has four campuses and is divided into nine faculties.

  • University Of Limpopo

The University of Limpopo was created in 2005. The school is located in Limpopo province, South Africa.

  • The University Of Kwazulu-Natal

The University of Kwazulu-Natal was established in 2004. The university has five campuses and four faculties.

  • University Of Mpumalanga

This university was created in 2014. It offers quality technical courses. The school is situated in Mbombela, South Africa.

  • Vaal University Of Technology

Vaal university of technology was founded in 2004. The school is one of the best and largest technical universities in South Africa. The Vaal University of Technology is located in Vanderbijlpark, South Africa.



The universities listed above are institutions where you can obtain a technical degree. They all offer technology courses and work to produce top-notch IT students. Are you searching for a technology university in South Africa? Then, check the above list out and make a good choice for yourself.

Tag: List of Universities of Technology in South Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *